vSphere 5.5 Client Integration Plug-In on Mac OSX Error

This took me quite a while to track this down so I decided to post a quick article on it.

Symptom:  Getting page cannot be displayed errors when attempting to access a virtual machine’s (VM) console while using Safari, Firefox, or Chrome on a mac.  This only applies for people using the VCSA (VMware vCenter Server Appliance) and running version 5.5.

There is an error in the environment variables on the appliance that you need to correct.

  • SSH into the VCSA not the hosts.
  • Update wrapper.conf which is located at:
    /usr/lib/vmware-vsphere-client/server/wrapper/conf/

    using the text  editor of your choice (vi or nano) with the following in the environmental variables section:

set.default.VMWARE_JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jre-vmware

  • Save and close wrapper.conf.
  • Restart the vSphere Web Client via:

/etc/init.d/vsphere-client restart

That should cure what ails ya.  I was extremely frustrated while trying to find this, as neither Google nor Bing returned this article without serious poking around, but of course I took to poking around before trying to read through log files.

Source:  http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=2060604

Hope this saves someone the pain that I went through.

I’ve tested this on OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.5 and OSX Mavericks GM.

3 thoughts on “vSphere 5.5 Client Integration Plug-In on Mac OSX Error”

  1. Thanks for your help! Saved me some time as Google brought me here after only a few minutes of searching. What a joke they wouldn’t test this on Mac + Chrome (or Firefox). In recent years I’ve almost ALWAYS used AWS for my projects but am stuck using VMware for this and they’re not exactly winning me back.

    1. Whoops, spoke too soon. Still getting issues on OS X 10.8.5 with both Chrome and Firefox. I’ve confirmed that the:

      “set.default.VMWARE_JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jre-vmware”

      string was properly added and the service properly restarted. One odd thing I did notice was that there already exists a similar line, save for the “VMWARE” part of the variable:

      “set.default.JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jre-vmware”.

      Also, java exists in that path and runs fine:
      vc:~ # /usr/java/jre-vmware/bin/java -version
      Picked up JAVA_TOOL_OPTIONS: -Xms16M -Xmx128M
      java version “1.7.0_17″
      Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_17-b02)
      Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 23.7-b01, mixed mode)

      Any thoughts?

      1. @Patrick: I’ll try to take a look tomorrow and see if I can post a copy of my file for comparison. Apologies for the slow reply.

Leave a Reply

